RHIT, RHIA Among Top Five Health IT Certifications for 2017

Both the Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT) and Registered Health Information Administrator (RHIA) certifications were listed among the top five health IT certifications for 2017 in an assessment of health information technology certifications and their value within the healthcare industry conducted by Tom’s IT Pro. Credentials were ranked in the assessment based on the number of mentions they received as requirements or preferences for jobs posted to online employment websites. Detailed information about each credential is included in the assessment, including prerequisites, exam information, and background skills displayed by each credential.

Professionals holding the RHIT credential are health information technicians who “ensure the quality of medical records by verifying their completeness, accuracy, and proper entry into computer systems,” according to AHIMA.

A professional holding the RHIA credential is someone who acts as a critical link between care providers, payers, and patients, who is “an expert in managing patient health information and medical records, administering computer information systems, collecting and analyzing patient data, and using classification systems and medical terminologies,” according to AHIMA.

The top five credentials listed in the Tom’s IT Pro assessment were, in no particular order:

  • RHIA
  • RHIT

1 Comment

  1. Please, define acronyms. I haven’t been around enough to know them

    Post a Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!