Deadline Extended to Apply for ICD-10 End-to-End Testing

Those physicians and hospital staff interested in getting a jump on ICD-10-CM/PCS implementation just got a little more time to apply for government backed end-to-end testing on the new code set. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced yesterday that it wUS Capitol Buildingill be pushing out the deadline to apply for voluntary ICD-10 testing until January 21.

During the week of April 26, 2015 through May 1, 2015, a sample group of providers selected by CMS will have the opportunity to participate in ICD-10 end-to-end testing with Medicare Administrative Contractors (MACs) and the Common Electronic Data Interchange (CEDI) contractor.

CMS has said the goal of end-to-end testing is to demonstrate that:

  • Providers and submitters are able to successfully submit claims containing ICD-10 codes to the Medicare Fee-For Service (FFS) claims systems
  • CMS software changes made to support ICD-10 result in appropriately adjudicated claims
  • Accurate remittance advices are produced

Approximately 850 volunteer submitters will be selected to participate in the April end-to-end testing. “This nationwide sample will yield meaningful results, since CMS intends to select volunteers representing a broad cross-section of provider, claim, and submitter types, including claims clearinghouses that submit claims for large numbers of providers,” said a CMS press release announcing the application extension.

This will be the second round of end-to-end testing conducted by CMS, with the first round taking place this month.

Those looking to volunteer as a tester can find application forms on their MAC website. Forms must be completed and submitted by January 21, after which CMS will review the applications and select the test group. By February 13, the MACs and CEDI will notify the volunteers selected to test and provide them with information needed for the testing, according to the CMS press release.

If selected, end-to-end testers must be able to submit future-dated claims and provide valid National Provider Identifiers (NPIs), Provider Transaction Access Numbers (PTANs), and beneficiary Health Insurance Claim Numbers (HICNs) that will be used for test claims.

An additional opportunity for end-to-end testing will be available during the week of July 20 through July 24, 2015. Any issues identified during this CMS testing will be addressed by CMS prior to ICD-10 implementation on October 1, 2015, and educational materials will be developed for providers and submitters based on the testing results.

For more information read the MLN Matters articles “Medicare FFS ICD-10 Testing Approach”and “FAQs – ICD-10 End-to-End Testing.”

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!