CMS Finalizes Meaningful Use Deadlines for Eligible Providers

Hospitals and other eligible providers have been granted more flexibility in meeting criteria under the “meaningful use” electronic health record (EHR) Incentive Program, according to a rule finalized last week by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

The final rule, which has not been changed since it was proposed in May, offers providers more leeway in how they use certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT) to meet meaningful use requirements for an EHR Incentive Program reporting period for 2014.

More specifically, the final rule:

  • Makes it easier for providers to meet important meaningful use objectives like drug interaction and drug allergy checks, providing clinical summaries to patients, electronic prescribing, reporting on key public health data and reporting on quality measures.
  • Lets eligible providers use the 2011 Edition CEHRT or a combination of 2011 and 2014 Edition CEHRT for an EHR reporting period in 2014 for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs.
  • Requires eligible professionals, eligible hospitals, and critical access hospitals to use the 2014 Edition CEHRT in 2015.
  • Finalizes the extension of stage 2 through 2016 for certain providers and announces the stage 3 timeline, which will begin in 2017 for providers who first became meaningful EHR users in 2011 or 2012.

Click here to see CMS’s revised timeline for meaningful use requirements.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!