LTPAC Providers and Pharmacists Talk EHRs and Medication Information Exchange

Just because long-term and post-acute (LTPAC) care providers are exempt from the “meaningful use” EHR Incentive Program, it doesn’t mean clinicians in these facilities are immune to interacting with it.

Tuesday’s LTPAC Health IT Summit session “Sharing EHR Data Between Nursing Facility, Physician & LTC Pharmacy using CMS Standard Messages” provided an overview of meaningful use requirements, discussing how physicians, long-term care facilities, pharmacists, and long-term care pharmacies can participate in the process, and demonstrating a working model.

Co-presenter Shelly Spiro, PharmD, from the Pharmacy Health IT Collaborative, says that while LTPAC providers aren’t eligible for meaningful use incentive payments, the physicians, pharmacists, and other eligible professionals working in these settings can be involved in the process of creating a working model. Additionally, she says there’s currently a lot of information flowing among LTPAC facilities about patient medication data.

“The problem is the flow is proprietary,” Spiro says. “The flow doesn’t always meet the state board of pharmacy regulatory requirements, or even the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ requirements in relationship to e-prescribing. The main reason is until November 2014, the e-prescribing has been voluntary and it was exempted from the regulatory process for LTC facilities.”

Spiro says she and her co-presenters aim to set the stage for moving the industry to a standard solution, following the standards development organizations in terms of exchanging medication data.

“What we’re trying to do is focus on e-prescribing first because it’s a quick regulatory process that brings a lot of value for moving information between the facility, the physician, and the pharmacy,” Spiro says.

They will also discuss what’s known as a Virtual Care Team Model, which is a care model in which a group of providers interact electronically, sharing common data elements in a team-based approach to care.

Spiro’s co-presenters include Rod Baird, MS, administration, Geriatric Practice Management and Christopher Laxton, CAE, executive director of the American Medical Directors Association/The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!